The Story of God

Morgan Freeman traveled almost 100,000 miles to trace the origins of the great world religions. He visits sacred sites—a Mayan temple in Guatemala, the ghats of India, Vatican City in Rome, the pyramids of Egypt, and more. He interviews monks and monsignors, imams and rabbis, scientists, and scholars. The film sheds a brilliant light on the remarkable and unmistakable similarities among different faiths.


Stream Movie
- +

Product Description

The curriculum guide for The Story of God features a lesson for each of the world’s five major religions. These lessons work as stand alone resources. The discussion guide for this film features a section that corresponds with each episode in Season 1 of these series.

Film runtime: This docuseries features 3 seasons. Our discussion guide is for Season 1, featuring 6 episodes. Each episode is 42 minutes.

Film rating: TV-PG. Common Sense Media rates this series as appropriate for ages 13+.

Curriculum Guide

Lesson One: Hinduism
Lesson Two: Buddhism
Lesson Three: Judaism
Lesson Four: Christianity
Lesson Five: Islam

Preview Curriculum Guide

Discussion Guide

Episode 1: Beyond Death
Episode 2: Apocalypse
Episode 3: Who Is God?
Episode 4: Creation
Episode 5: Why Does Evil Exist?
Episode 6: The Power of Miracles

Preview Discussion Guide

How to download your free materials

1. Click “Add to Cart” (top of page). 2. Click cart icon and select “Checkout”. 3. Download your PDF(s).

Related Resources for Teaching about World Religions
Sustainable Development Goals

Journeys in Film supports the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. This curriculum guide connects to the following United Nations SDGs. Learn more about teaching with SDGs.

Royal blue background with white 16 in the upper left hand corner. Text beside it, white, reads: Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions. Central image, all white, is a dove with an olive branch in its beak, legs resting on a gavel.

You may also like…